I was still pretty hungry after a hodgepodge of sandwiches throughout the day, so we talked to the hostel host and found a street stall close by. Absolutely amazing arepas. Andy would have been proud.
Got up early this morning in attempt to get the run out of the way. The cinta costera, a large promenade on the water is less than a mile away so that will be the route the next few days. Actually not horrible on the water. Definitely better than Thailand. Still muggy though. That didn't seem to borrow the dude I saw out jogging in a sweatshirt and tights. I guess I also ended up racing a guy. I was on my way back and he was stopped but started running next to me and matched pace. I just kept running my slogging pace thinking he'd slow down, but I got the vibe he was testing the waters a little so I picked it up just a bit. He actually went with for a while. Funny how you can be dieing in the heat and a little thing like that can put you floating again, if only for a little while.
Breakfast was a fruit smoothie from a stand. Absolutely amazing. I feel like I'm never let down by these when I'm traveling. We strolled casca Viejo in the morning, culminating with ceviche for lunch at the fish market. From there, we caught a cab to the locks. Expensive and a bit underwhelming, but something I suppose we should visit while here.
Dinner was at la caribe. A hair pricy for panama, but solid food. We took in a basketball game at a park nearby after dinner then capped off the night with chirrros. A fine first day of vacation.
No comments:
Post a Comment